#nErDcampMI 2017 = Inspiration 

I’m overflowing with inspiration as I reflect on my experience at nErDcampMI. The community of passionate educators, authors, and the various others who attend nErDcampMI will forever be in my heart. 

The crazy thing is… I can still physically feel the energy/buzz which radiated from every room in Western High School. Hundreds of people traveled across many states (mostly on their own dime) to learn, grow, share, and inspire each other. Talk about authentic engagement.

As a second-year attendee, I knew what to expect, yet I learned a TON and became even more inspired than last year. (I think last year I was in shock that such a community could even exist!) Last year I was able to take one idea from camp and implement it at my school. Thanks to Stacey Reidmiller’s session at nErDcampMI 2016, her Books On Blankets Program inspired me to secure a Little Free Library for my elementary school and start a summer Books & Blankets Program of our own. If you want to learn more about Stacey’s summer program, go to Literacy for Big Kids blog.

Sitting at home, stewing over the new literacy ideas I obtained at camp, I cannot help but want to share. Writing the ideas here will not only allow me to share them with all of you, but will allow the flame of inspiration to keep burning within me. I’m sharing one idea below and will create future posts which will include other wonderful, fabulous literacy tidbits I learned at nErDcampMI.

One School, One Book

Author Jacqueline Davies taught us about Read To Them’s wonderful resource called One School, One Book. After attending Jacqueline’s session, my colleague and I want to implement this at our school. The basics are…

  • Two-week lead-up excitement including clues left behind each day as to the title of the book. 
  • Kick-off assembly where the title is revealed. The whole school and staff leaves the assembly with their own copy of the book.
  • One chapter a night is read with family members. ALL staff members read too (teachers, principal, custodians, etc.)
  • Fun trivia questions are asked about the chapter read the following day on the intercom.
  • Family night. After the book is completed, teachers will compete in teams using their knowledge of the book.

There are MANY more details we learned about this wonderful program from Jacqueline. Numerous ways to jazz up the school and create a FUN experience for the school community. For example, imagine your school was planning to read THE LEMONADE WARS, and your principal dressed up like a lemon for the kick-off assembly. 

I cannot stop thinking about One School, One Book. It has the possibility to create a culture of reading by sharing a common positive experience with the WHOLE school community. Imagine how powerful that could be.

All the resources and information for One School, One Book are available at the Read To Them website. Click One School, One Book for more infomation.

If you EVER get a chance to attend a nerdcamp, do not pass it up. It is the best, most amazing community of people you could imagine being around. Thank you to all the people who make nErDcampMI possible. I am forever grateful.

Leave a Reply

