#TeachersWrite Experience

Displaying Photo note

I am loving my experience with #TeachersWrite so far. After my first week, I actually have a piece of writing. Yay! I know if I want to be a better writing teacher, I need to write. The #TeachersWrite blog is just I need for guidance to overcome the fear I’ve always had about writing. If you are interested in checking it out, click here. It links to author Kate Messner and her blog. (By the way, if you have not read THE SEVENTH WISH, by Kate Messner, you must.)

Now, for the brave, getting over the fear, part of this process. My work in progress is below. Feel free to comment and share what works for you, what does not, and any suggestions for improvement.

 

He just does not understand! I do not want a dog, I need a dog. When I am terrified after waking up from a nightmare, a dog will be there to comfort me. When grief takes over my body like a disease, a dog will love me.

“Dad, I will pay the adoption fee, pick up the poop, feed him. I swear I will!”

“Rrr,” Dad grunted, shutting the office door behind him.

Defeat washed over me like a wave. I’m drowning. I slowly trudge up the stairs and plop down on my bed.

“Rrr,” I grunt.

5 thoughts on “#TeachersWrite Experience

  1. Jen,
    Great job bolting past the fear and diving in! Teachers Write forces that bravery.

    I liked the voice in your excerpt. It feels like a young person, my personal bias says boy, who might have lost “his” mother and “he” and the dad have similar grief. The shared “Rrr” shows this with a gentle touch. Like a written wink.

    I love that this character has a sense of what “he” needs. I wonder how “he’ll” go get it despite the father.

    The only thing that doesn’t work for me is the line, “grief takes over my body like a disease.” It feels older than the character.”

    I can’t wait to read more!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

