Just Sharing! Single-Point Rubric and Hooks

I just wanted to share a few things I have implemented in my classroom this week. Both have added excitement, understanding, and increased student engagement!

Single-Point Rubric

Anatomy-Single-Point

When I first read about the single-point rubric via Jennifer Gonzalez, I couldn’t help but think, “This is what I have been waiting for, so simple, yet brilliant!” The single-point rubric allows you to enter the criteria/learning target/standard into the middle column. The left column is called “areas of concern” or “needs improvement.” This area is left blank, so the teacher can give feedback based on the criteria. I have decided to change the title of the left column to “Feedback: Moving Towards the Goal.”  Grant Wiggins explains the difference between feedback and advice. After reading his blog post, I realized I was giving students feedback only 50% of the time. The other 50%, advice. Feedback as close to 100% as I can get is now MY goal! The right side of the rubric is titled, “Advanced.” It is left blank as well. I found this helpful to write down exactly what statement students made that demonstrated or displayed advanced thinking/work for the given criteria.

I used the Single-Point-Rubric-Template-1 to create criteria for our recent formative assessment in ELA. I then gave feedback on the rubric for each student’s assessment. During reading groups this week, I met with students and we went over the feedback. Students made changes to items on the assessment to reach each goal. This gave students an opportunity to learn from their mistakes and allowed time for re-teaching. But most of all, I felt it took the “pressure” off for all parties involved!

Hooks

After the curiosity got the best of me last night, and I had nothing better to do when battling my fever (yes, I got the icky bug), I joined the #bfctlap Twitter chat on “Hooks.” Hooks are based on the book, Teaching Like a Pirate, by Dave Burgess. They are engagement strategies to hook students in. I enjoyed the chat so much, people sharing wonderful ideas, that I had to purchase the book. Eager to get started with Hooks, I did a little research online and decided to set up clues for teams to solve a word problem in Math. Each team received the first clue from me. The clues gave a piece of the information to solve the word problem and the location of the next clue. Students were so excited, engaged, and doing math at the same time! There is no better time than mid-year to mix it up and re-engage students! Tomorrow, I am doing the Mystery Bag hook. I am engaged as well. So fun!

Thanks for letting me share. Do you have anything new your are implementing in your classroom? Please share!

2 thoughts on “Just Sharing! Single-Point Rubric and Hooks

  1. THIS IS SO DANG EXCITING. I am thrilled that you tried the rubric, and that you adjusted it for your needs, and that it worked! You said the students were able to make changes based on the feedback — did any of them comment on the new format? Do you feel it did a better job of helping them understand their performance? Thanks so much for sharing this, Jen!

    Like

    1. Students like the new format because the feedback was specific to their own performance rather than a general statement. It definitely helped them understand their performance better! Most needed little to no help in making the necessary changes. In turn, I had more time to work with the few who needed more guidance or re-teaching. Grading has always been something I dreaded, now I am excited to give feedback. Thank you!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

